Stillwater Sciatica Hacks

M_D

Top Notch Mediocre Flyfisher
Forum Supporter
Evidently, at age 62, I'm now in the phase to pay the piper for previous abuses to my body. The last couple years have been a roller coaster ride between feeling good and having limited mobility with the low points becoming more frequent and longer in duration. Aside from trying not to do anything stupid to aggravate my bulging disc, working with a medical professional, and core flexibility & strengthening regimes, anyone have hacks or suggestions to make bobbing around on a lake more better? ( I'm still hobbling around from my last 5 hour float 4 days ago.)

I have an old Watermaster Grizzly with the canvas strap supported back rest. I realize I gotta pay attention to my posture but I can't be the only one dealing with this. What works for others? Getting out and stretching frequently? Bringing along single use ice or heat packs? Wearing one of those velcro back supports? Choosing to fish near a massage parlor? Or simply staying home until one heals up?

Yep, I'm whining in my Wheaties here but what works for others?

Mossback

Fear My Powerful Emojis 😆
Forum Supporter
I would consider addressing the underlying cause. When I had disk issues, no amount of physical therapy or ice/ heat provided anything more than temporary relief. They do not fix themselves.
Having the back surgery provided lasting (24 years now) relief, with about a 4 month recovery period.
YMMV

iveofione

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter