Westport Meat Trip

SteelHeadDave

Broskioner
Forum Supporter
Two of my friends and I have a ling/rockfish meat fishing trip booked on Sunday out of Westport. This is something I’ve never done and I am not sure what to expect. Honestly gear fishing for rocks/lings with a guide doesn’t quite have me stoked. That being said I’m gonna bring a 6wt and 8wt with a floater and a fast sinker in hopes that the captain is cool with that. I’m mostly thinking of opportunities with black rockfish.

Any advice for someone in my position? What lines would you bring? Also I’m a total newb when it comes to ocean stuff in a boat. Never done it before. I’ve spent many hours hoping rocks on the jetty back in the day but it sounds like we will be going offshore to some degree. Any recommendations on anti sea sickness stuff? Can you mix Dramamine with beer?

Last edited:

Nick Clayton

Fishing Is Neat
Forum Supporter
For rockfish I like an 8 wt with a line setup of an intermediate running line with 25-30' of T14 as a head. Any sort of fast sinking shooting head would be my choice. There is not a ton of shallow water spots out of Westport, but there are places to find rockfish in 20-60 FOW. The downside is most of those places require a fairly substantial run north, which may not be in the plans of the skipper considering how many spots are available much closer, but quite a bit deeper. I've never caught rockfish on top out of Westport, but I have encountered scenarios where it would be possible a few times.