Spring like razor clams!

jasmillo

}=)))*>
Forum Supporter
Kerri and I dug razor clams today.....sunny, no wind and limits in 25 minutes! Low minus tide at 4:29, we started digging around 3:40 and on the road at 4:15. Fished for surf perch for about 1/2 hour but the tide was going out too fast. Fresh razors for dinner tomorrow!! :D

Bring me half a dozen of those and I’ll park my truck fully in the woods the next time I fish that lake we frequent ;).

Gary Knowels

Hack of all trades
Forum Supporter
@Bambooflyguy

Sounds like fun.

I’ve never done it before…did you use a clam gun? Shovel? Hands?

Not looking to crowd you on the beach….just curious as to how it’s done

M_D

Top Notch Mediocre Flyfisher
Forum Supporter
Ha! Thanks… I was being uber lazy this morning and figured I’d just ask.

Doing a Google search can be pretty taxing on a Saturday morning 😴🤪

Bambooflyguy

Life of the Party
@Bambooflyguy

Sounds like fun.

I’ve never done it before…did you use a clam gun? Shovel? Hands?

Not looking to crowd you on the beach….just curious as to how it’s done
I’ve been digging razor clams with my family since the early sixties. I always use a clam shovel.....I dig down by the water where the clams are close to the surface. A couple of scoops then dig with my hand. Once you feel the clam, it’s a tug of war! These suckers fight back! Then you have the waves coming in and the sand and water filling the hole.....it’s a yummy, fun challenge. The best part is a bowl of butter in the microwave, dried dill and bbq lightly!

Salmo_g

Legend
Forum Supporter
Razor clams are the best!