Current Alternative to a Sage DS2 5X 9ft? - Long shot I know

Aleforme

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
So as I have mentioned in a couple post, I'm very new to Fly Fishing. Right now, I have a 6x Echo Boost Blue rod that I like but it's a very fast rod. I bought this rod based on some local advise because I want to eventually fish for some SRC and throw some streamers for trout as well. I think I'll be very happy with it for that purpose.

I was on a float yesterday and I was able to try out a few 5X rods and one that I really liked and just clicked with was an older Sage DS2 9ft 5X. I mean my casting with from meh, to holy crap I just became a waaaaaay better caster. It was night and day. I know you should always learn and master what you have in had but I do need to pick up a 5X rods at some point and I really loved and clicked with the moderate (?) action of the DS2. I was able to throw dry flies with relative ease even in some good wind. At that's saying a lot for me!

So, can anyone recommend a 5X that would be similar in action to the DS2? I know this is kind of a needle in a haystack situation but I know there are some really experienced folks here and maybe you have thrown a DS2 in the past and know of something comparable?

I really don't want to spend a boatload on a new rod but I know there are some good value rods out there that would suit me just fine. I just would like to find something comparable to the DS2 if that's even possible. I have founds a couple DS2 rods but I guess they are all 2 piece and if possible, maybe I could find a 4pc alternative?

As always, thanks in advance for any advise and thanks again to everyone that has helped me so far in my Fly Journey. It's much appreciated.

Jim

Stonedfish

Known Grizzler-hater of triploids, humpies & ND
Forum Supporter
Just buy a used DS2 if you liked it.
They aren’t that expensive and I bet someone has one lying around they are likely to sell.
SF

Last edited:

Matt B

RAMONES
Forum Supporter