Non-Fly Bait scents: bullshit or not?

Wiznet

Steelhead
Hey guys! What’s your thoughts on bait scents and things like monster bite by pro cure? Specifically adding it to egg cures. Seems kinda like BS, but curious what you folks think

Jake Watrous

Legend
Forum Supporter
It’s always seemed like putting a hat on a hat to me, especially in saltwater. I am far from an expert, but my sense is that saltwater strikes are more triggered by profile, movement, and color than scent.

That said, bait fishing does offer scent as a trigger, and PowerBait smells like a fish's asshole for a reason. So maybe there's something to it? I know a lot of folks swear by WD-40 on their stuff because they say the smell draws strikes.

Peyton00

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
I like scent when applicable. They will move over and go around a sour bait in moving water.
Plunking as a kid, we always used scent and quality bait was #1.

Rob Allen

Life of the Party
I tend to completely dismiss scents on bait BUT there are days when garlic powerbait will outfish others so I doubt my dismissal is justified.

Evan B

Bobber Downey Jr.
Staff member
Admin
Depends what we're talking about. I think it absolutely makes a difference with Chinook, especially in fresh water. But there are a lot of factors at play.

Shad

Life of the Party
They absolutely make a difference... sometimes. I agree with earlier thoughts regarding saltwater; most things move way too fast in the ocean for fish to think much about how they smell before deciding whether to try and eat them. Besides that, a lot of the bait we use in the salt is live, so it looks, moves, and smells just like the real thing... cuz it is!