SRC Help

Mukman

Life of the Party
I would have never posted this question on the Forum Which Shall Not Be Named, because I think I would have gotten lit up. I still might, but here goes:

I'm a rookie to SRC fishing. I don't want/expect anyone to share their best beaches or best flies, but what I'd like to know (so as to begin the voyage of discovery) is: what are the characteristics of a good looking SRC beach on the salt? Are tide swings important? Incoming or outgoing better? Is there a season that is better than another? Should there be fresh water flowing into salt near by? Kelp good or kelp bad? So many questions.....

I'd love to spend some time in the salt, but seeing as how it's kind of big area, I wanted to narrow my search a bit based upon some basic parameters. I live in the N Sound region.

Thanks - Keith

Stonedfish

Known Grizzler-hater of triploids, humpies & ND
Forum Supporter
You’ll get a lot of answers and opinions on this.
Here are my two cents.
Moving water certainly helps. You’ll tend to have more success when the tide is moving.
Incoming or outgoing is going to depend on the beach. Some fish better on the outgoing, others on the incoming. Pick a couple of beach you think will produce and try to fish them at different tidal phases. You’ll start seeing patterns develop. Over time, you know which beaches to hit based on the tides. It takes some time but it is all part of the process of beach fishing. I will say though if I had only one tide to fish, it would be a early morning high into an outgoing.

Beaches with pebbles, oysters and barnacled covered rocks are all good bets. Places with eel grass beds nearby can be good as well. Though you can catch cutts over sandy bottoms, the other types of bottom are better in my opinion.
Looks for areas with points, depressions etc. Having creeks nearby is always good.