Saltwater SRC/Coho rod recommendation

gwb72tii

Just Hatched
Newbie here to SRC fishing. I have a boat and will be fishing from it, casting towards shore. I have a Loomis 5wt, but it's not built for the salt.

I don't care to spend $1000 on a rod if I can help it and thankfully there are a number of less costly rods to choose from.

What rod would you recommend? .

DimeBrite

Saltwater fly fisherman
A 6 weight medium fast action 9'0" fly rod with a fighting butt and saltwater compatible reel seat & guides.

Check out models & deals from Scott and G Loomis

Stonedfish

Known Grizzler-hater of triploids, humpies & ND
Forum Supporter

Reactions: ffb

doublespey

Let.It.Swing
Forum Supporter
You can definitely use your 5wt. Wind on the salt is the best reason to err toward a 6wt.

Check out the TFO Blitz 6wt - designed for saltwater with fighting butt, around $400 and fast warranty service if you break it.

Divad

Whitefish
from what I've read, 5wt seems right
I’d say a bulk of the reason people go with the 6 is for the ability to cast into the wind. A 5wt is more than enough to manage the fight of an SRC and 2-6lb coho no problem. Then again when you start getting larger coho later into the summer the 6 helps.

Edit: jinx (above)! And the 6 should cast further. As Scudley said, fish your 5, warm water rinse it and your reel afterwards and you’ll be fine. Cold water works too.

Last edited:

jaredoconnor

Peabrain Chub
Forum Supporter
I used an Echo Carbon XL 6wt and it worked well. I would probably prefer that, over an Ion XL, for the weight.

You could also use an unconventional line, on your 5wt. Something like a Wulff Ambush Short would be good. A guy from OPST used to use a 10ft 3wt, for SRC.

wmelton

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
TFO LK
Orvis Clearwater
Echo Boost Blue
Echo Carbon XL
Edge Archetype