Mousing with a two hander

Do any of you mouse with a two hander? I have a Scout head on my TR2 3wt Trout Spey and need to know what tips or leader to use for mouse.

Dustin Chromers

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
Do any of you mouse with a two hander? I have a Scout head on my TR2 3wt Trout Spey and need to know what tips or leader to use for mouse.

I don't do this but I would imagine a floating versileader would be best to get good turnover on a bulky wind resistant fly like a mouse.

Tallguy

Steelhead
I have done a little mousing for brown trout, mostly at dusk and nighttime, although I am no expert. I would be slightly concerned about accuracy, good mousing might be best pounding the bank with the mouse. Are you accurate enough as a single hander might be?

Other than that, go with a heavy short leader, assuming you have enough weight in your head.

Triploidjunkie

Life of the Party
I have done a little mousing for brown trout, mostly at dusk and nighttime, although I am no expert. I would be slightly concerned about accuracy, good mousing might be best pounding the bank with the mouse. Are you accurate enough as a single gander might be?

Other than that, go with a heavy short leader, assuming you have enough weight in your head.
This^^^. Accuracy is key, at least when I do it. If you're just swinging it across a river in full daylight, I guess you could use a two hand rod. I only started using mice for trout last year, but have been using them for bass forever. You want that thing to look like it just came off shore, so within an inch or two.

Brute

Legend
Forum Supporter
I saw a guy using his switch rod with a mouse on Battle Creek in Alaska...he caught fish...

kmudgn

Steelhead