Largest Dam Removal Project in the US-Klamath (Washington Post)

FinLuver

Native Oregonian…1846
I suspect the river, while free flowing, will be but a trickle of itself once the summer heats and low precipitation takes hold. There still so many with a “straw” in the system.

dirty dog

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
I suspect the river, while free flowing, will be but a trickle of itself once the summer heats and low precipitation takes hold.
I grew up with the Rogue River before Lost Creek dam.
A guy could walk and wade safely in the summer.
Post Lost Creek dam, no way.

Buzzy

I prefer to call them strike indicators.
Forum Supporter
Thanks for posting this article.

I worked in the hydro industry for 28 years with much of my career spent working on fish passage studies and programs. I was born in Port Angeles and remember my grandfather stopping on the old one lane bridge over the Elwha and his stories about the 100 pound Chinook - if I remember right, the Elwha was a prototype program where the dams were permitted without fish passage (ladders) and hatcheries were implemented in lieu of passage. So with that long winded bunch of bullshit - I do have personal opinions on dams and andaromous fish. I don't see any immediate replacement for those monsters on the Columbia River unless we have a world wide reset where flood control, electrical generation and agricultural (irrigation) crops aren't needed anymore. But:

I think removing the Klamath dams is long overdue. Let's get it done and see if salmon, steelhead and lamprey respond: maybe yes, maybe no. The Elwha dams removal? Right on! The Snake River dams - ouch, bye bye.

Rob Allen

Life of the Party
Thanks for posting this article.