Help me start tying? Pretty please?

Pink Nighty

Life of the Party
I am brand new to fly tying. As a young kid (like 8-10) I had a vice and a couple tools and threw some feathers on hooks, but that's it.

About 10 years ago I wanted to start again and bought a tool kit and found the parts inoperably shitty. This left me a little discouraged and skittish to try again, but I was also not nearly as committed to fly fishing then as now.

With the wife and daughter showing interest I'm looking to get into it. I have zero tools or materials and am looking for advice on where to start.

Initially I'd like to tie buggers, small streamers/bait patterns and other common, simple patterns.

I've yet to find a prepackaged kit online with consistent positive reviews. Lots of complaints about quality spanning a pretty wide price range.

Anybody purchased a tool kit that they would suggest to a beginner? Would I be better served piecing together the tools bit by bit?

I don't want to waste money but I am ok to spend a little bit on things that matter or are worth it. Really just need direction on what those those things might be.

Due to space constraints of the current abode, everything is going to have to be able to break down and box up relatively easily. Wont have room to dedicate to a desk for the time being.

Good resources for instruction and materials would also be really appreciated.

Any and all suggestions welcome!!

Reactions: Zak

RCF

Life of the Party
When I started tying I took lessons from a local fly shop. It was a Christmas present from my wife. Best present ever! It was once a week for 8 weeks. First fly? A bugger of course. To have just-in-time help regarding techniques, proportions, good materials, and ability to try different vices is priceless.