Finally - SRC Success!!!!

Aleforme

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
I'm still pretty new to fly fishing (Thank you everyone here for all the help!) but have managed to catch some nice trout in rivers and lakes. The one species that has eluded me so far has been the Sea Run Cutthroat. I live within walking distance of the Sound but have been striking out. Wrong weather, wrong tide, wrong area, etc. I'd been reading up on them, doing research, trying different areas and talking to my local fly shop but still no success. A few hits but even then I wasn't sure if they were actually fish.

Last evening, I finally started to figure out these elusive trout. I went out about and hour and half after high tide and had to deal with some serious salad in the water. I think I spent 80% of my time cleaning the line and fly. In the hour or so I was out there, I bet I only got 30 or so clean decent casts in. So much debris and salad! But, the fish were jumping in the area so I wasn't giving up. I hooked up to four fish, got two right up to the net and lost them but landed this 17 inch SRC. I thought I had a tiny fish on at first or just hooked up to some seaweed but once he got close and realized he was hooked, he took off and put up a good fight. Jumped around like the water was on fire and luckily his final jump landed him right in my net! I really need to work on my landing skills.

Super pumped that I've finally knocked the skunk off for these SRC. I was smiling cheek to cheek on my 10 minute driver home. Hopefully next time the water will be a little cleaner and I won't have to fight so much debris salad out there but then again, maybe that's why I had such good luck? Regardless, I'm hooked and I can be in the water fishing within 20 minutes of walking out of my front door.

NOMLOHth.jpg

tyRSUiRh.jpg

Stonedfish

Known Grizzler-hater of triploids, humpies & ND
Forum Supporter
Nice work!
SF

Stonedfish

Known Grizzler-hater of triploids, humpies & ND
Forum Supporter