Belize

I just wrapped up a 7 day trip to Belize. It was our first trip here and we really enjoyed it. Over the 7 days, I spent 3 days fishing. I’ve been fishing since I can remember and fly fishing for 20+ years but this was my first time doing any type of flats type fishing. It was a great experience and I can definitely see more of it in my future.

The night before my first day out, my guide Alex stopped by dinner to talk about logistics, get a sense for my experience level and ask if I had anything in particular I wanted to accomplish over the three days. We were in Punta Gorda so I think he assumed Permit would be my quarry of choice. I told him Permit would be great but in the end, I’ve caught none of the flats fish folks target so I was open to anything. I think that put him at ease a bit. The time of year and weather conditions were not ideal for permit and that combined with my experience level made it unlikely I’d have a ton of success catching targeting permit only. Ok, let’s target what’s available. Sounds good to me.