Anyone using a shallow water pole anchor?

Wade Rivers

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
I've seen a few boats with the manual "power pole" that you jam in the bottom. Anyone using one?

Curious about the logistics of use and ease of deployment. I fish a lot of shallow Central Oregon lakes and have a small driftboat/pram and a 16 ft aluminum lake boat.

Thnx

Last edited:

Nick Clayton

Fishing Is Neat
Forum Supporter
Lol I saw this post but was hesitant to chime in since I have no experience with a manual pole.

I love the poles on my boat on the sound. (Power poles). For use in current I don't think I'd want less than two. With two poles my boat stays perfectly in place and doesn't swing around at all. Just a guess, but I'd imagine if you're doing a lot of shallow water lake stuff a single manual pole would be pretty dang handy. Boat would probably swing some in any sort of wind, but I doubt it would be a big deal in most scenarios.

I've seen some of those manual setups but I've never actually used one so I really can't speak to ease of deployment and such. My gut tells me it would be a rather simple and easy thing to deal with, but can't say with any actual knowledge.

Josh

Dead in the water
Staff member
Admin
I love the idea of them. But most of the bass lakes around here that I fish tend to be deeper than even the powered poles can reach. I mean, I'm sure I'd find some use for them if someone gave me a fancy power pole setup. But for the money, I haven't been able to justify it.

That said, I think it's all going to depend on your lake depth. If I fished shallow lakes more, I'd probably look into at least the power-pole micro which seems like a pretty clever design for kayaks or small boats.

Buzzy

I prefer to call them strike indicators.
Forum Supporter
Lol I saw this post but was hesitant to chime in since I have no experience with a manual pole.