Affordable Saltwater Reels

speedbird

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
I currently use Lamson Liquids for my Saltwater fishing. Great reels reasonably priced but I realize they are not technically saltwater reels. Fly Fishing is very expensive and I can't afford the more popular options. Do you guys have opinions on how long my Lamsons should last assuming I rinse them thoroughly and correctly lubricate them after each use/season? They have "sealed" drags but I have seen saltwater get into them before. Are there other options to look at in the future when mine wear out?

Northern

Seeking SMB
Forum Supporter
I have a Lamson Radius - not a "saltwater" model - that I've been using in the salt intermittently for 15 or 20 years. It's still just fine.
The true salt reels are usually designated as such because they have drags that will not melt on you when a bonefish/trevally/tuna takes off at a hundred mph - not really necessary for Puget Sound species, IMHO. They're not necessarily any more salt-resistant.
I see LOTS of Lamsons hanging on 6wts on the beach! A Remix currently resides on my 6wt Scott Tidal most of the time

Greg Armstrong

Go Green - Fish Bamboo
Forum Supporter
Don’t overthink it. Unless you’re going for bigger quarry, it doesn’t take anything too modern or high tech.

For years I’ve used reels like this old Pflueger Sal-Trout, and they can be had for around $15. Spray it (or most any reel for that matter) with Boeshield, and you’re good to go.

1698034351213.jpeg

mickey rat

Vermin
Stick with your Lamson. I use the same reel on my 6 weights and have multiple spools with different lines ready to go in the salt. Religiously taken the drag bearing out and rinsed down well after every session. They have lasted for years but I finally had one crap out last month. So you're out a 100 bucks for a new replacement but still have the old spool and a spare drag. You can't beat the bang for buck on those 3 pack combos they offer.

Last edited:

Evan B