Petition to amend and repeal 2023-2024 winter steelhead season on the Olympic Peninsula

HauntedByWaters

Life of the Party
Where did I say I was an "expert on the matter"?
My educational background includes degrees in fisheries. My work background includes four decades of experience in the commercial and recreational commercial fisheries of AK. My current work includes data analysis of fisheries, be it subsistence, personal use, recreational or commercial.
I'm not an expert. I'm seasoned, and well-read on the broad range of information available.
To your point of more observation, see S_g's previous post on steelhead bycatch. If you are broadening the discussion to include all commercial bycatch species, might I suggest you start another thread?

Sorry. I am an asshole and didn’t like the way you called those that you disagree with “black and white”.

skyrise

Steelhead
The “Fact” is there are a few anti fishing/hunting people in this state that want it shut down. Just look at those the governor has put on the wildlife commission. And then there is the same going on an across our nation. See the last issue of the CCA magazine. Great write up by Bill Shed. Do you really think the Skagit/sauk would be open if the wsc had their way ? Any river for that matter. Or any hatchery’s at all in this state or Oregon, California etc.

Reactions: JS

Rob Allen

Life of the Party
On the topic of "ocean conditions" I think that it is important to think of all of the habitat loss in the Salish sea that has occurred. This is not habitat loss in the river but it certainly does contribute to low returns. Hard shoring, the hood canal bridge etc. all factor in too.

That sort of habitat destruction is clearly not a huge factor on the Hoh or Quil. but I do think that it is a missed part of the equation for other systems.

There is no magic bullet for most of these questions and there is no singular determining factor.