Kona Bones?

@Dryflyphotography

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
On a recent trip to Kona I talked with a local working for the US National Parks who told me there are bonefish in at least one of the saltwater "fish ponds" in the area. We drove to the pond in question and it looked too deep to wade and most of the shoreline was off-limits to walking so that curbed my excitement. We did see what might have been very small bonefish maybe 7-10" cruising the shoreline in groups of three which repeatedly sent a couple schools of smaller fish erupting into flight...But I have zero bonefish experience and have no idea that those were bones, it was only a guess. I also googled bone fishing on the Big Island and found very little. My curiosity is piqued. Anyone have any experience fishing bones there?

Evan B

Bobber Downey Jr.
Staff member
Admin
Bonefishing exists on the Big Island, but it's very few and far between, and the fishable spots are zipperlip programs. I'm afraid you likely won't get much information on it unless you get very lucky.

Bagman

Steelhead
On a recent trip to Kona I talked with a local working for the US National Parks who told me there are bonefish in at least one of the saltwater "fish ponds" in the area. We drove to the pond in question and it looked too deep to wade and most of the shoreline was off-limits to walking so that curbed my excitement. We did see what might have been very small bonefish maybe 7-10" cruising the shoreline in groups of three which repeatedly sent a couple schools of smaller fish erupting into flight...But I have zero bonefish experience and have no idea that those were bones, it was only a guess. I also googled bone fishing on the Big Island and found very little. My curiosity is piqued. Anyone have any experience fishing bones there?
Send a PM to Mems

Chadk

Life of the Party
Agree with above. Mems is a guide there and if you want a shot at the bones - hire him for day :)