Homemade Line Floatant

Wetswinger

Go Deep
Forum Supporter
What household products can you use for fly line floatant.? I've heard of using beeswax or chapstick. Do you have any secret recipes.? Do these household products risk damaging your line.?

I don't know about line flotant, but I have been using Vicks lip care for about 15 years now for fly flotant and nothing is better to me. Also quite cheaper than fly flotant and one tube lasted me about 8 years.

Buzzy

I prefer to call them strike indicators.
Forum Supporter
I don't know about line flotant, but I have been using Vicks lip care for about 15 years now for fly flotant and nothing is better to me. Also quite cheaper than fly flotant and one tube lasted me about 8 years.
The first thing that I thought of with your use of Vicks is inadvertently getting this onto a wet fly (yes, I see "floatant"; floating line) and the possibility of that scent affecting the bite. (A friend of mine swears that lip balm oils transferred to his "plugs" negatively affects strikes - he's a plug pullin' dirt bag and fun to fish with.)

SurfnFish

Legend
Forum Supporter
end of season I wash my lines, dry them, keep a cloth wetted with 333 Marine Aerospace Protectant and pull the line through...float like corks beginning of next season..we spend too much money on gear, gas and time to worry about saving a few buck with what connects us to the fish

Tom Butler

Grandpa, Small Stream Fanatic
Forum Supporter
we spend too much money on gear, gas and time to worry about saving a few buck with what connects us to the fish
I agree. I clean my lines after every outing and floaters get the SA treatment 2 to 3 times a year. Some toys only come out a couple times a year and I want them to work right. Several lines I fish date to the mid 70's and this regime keeps them in good shape.
I don't put anything else on my lines to help them float.

Attachments

• 20240115_094148.jpg
    20240115_094148.jpg
    448.6 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:

Zak