'83 Clackacraft Question???

Old406Kid

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
I'm not in the market but I happened to see this for sale and don't ever remember seeing this model.
What really caught my eye was the broad stern. I didn't measure the boat but it almost looks like Clack took a 16 footer and chopped some off the rear end.
My bigger question is I wonder what it would back row like, especially with someone in the rear seat?
Anyone have any experience with this model?
IMG-6589.JPG
IMG-6588.JPG

Hoofer

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
I have a Magnum about the same age as this. My take is that it does ok as a traditional drifter, although it was really intended for outboard work. I have limited experience for comparisons, but on a weekend rental, a low profile, dimple-hulled modern Clack seemed like a sports car in comparison, although oars and anchor systems played a role there too. Our Magnum has gone lots of places, and I’ve always thought the boat had plenty of capacity given the right operator.

From https://www.clacka.com/about-us/
It hovered in one spot in the flowing water, slowly backed up, then sprang to life by turning circles in the whitewater and jumping standing waves like a dirt bike. As a grand finale, the little go-cart like boat turned a circle at full throttle and then took aim at the boat launch while going full speed. The momentum caused the Magnum to slide up the asphalt 8-10 feet. The operator then shut off the outboard and stepped out on dry land.

I haven’t tried this in mine. 😃

SurfnFish

Legend
Forum Supporter
80's-early 90's 14' Clackacraft Magnum, initially designed as a power boat for tidewater to class 2/3. Owned a 16' Magnum I never would have sold if I hadn't moved off the coast.
Hull rocker prevents the 14' from planing easily with an outboard - the 16' had less rocker so planed better. With a 10 hp likely get about 15 mph out of it.