Carp - The golden bonefish

TicTokCroc

Sunkist and Sudafed
I'm saying this with ZERO judgement.
But it does seem a little like senseless killing?
Yes it is senseless killing, sometimes you gotta feed that blood lust. I've never done it before but I would not leave the carcasses at the river to rot. I plan on burying them in the garden. They are not native and harmful so that's a good justification, although one bowfisher probably won't make any difference in their population.

*I don't like when they shoot gar in the south, unless they are eating them.

mcswny

Legend
Forum Supporter
Yes it is senseless killing, sometimes you gotta feed that blood lust. I've never done it before but I would not leave the carcasses at the river to rot. I plan on burying them in the garden. They are not native and harmful so that's a good justification, although one bowfisher probably won't make any difference in their population.

*I don't like when they shoot gar in the south, unless they are eating them.

Fair. I still have no judgement. But yeah, just letting the carcasses rot on the banks seems shitty on many levels.

Canuck from Kansas

Aimlessly wondering through life
Forum Supporter
Fair. I still have no judgement. But yeah, just letting the carcasses rot on the banks seems shitty on many levels.

... and that is against Oregon regs (Wasting) "Wasting fish happens when an angler catches and then discards a fish. If you find dead, discarded fish on the bank without any evidence of it having been filleted or otherwise butchered, it’s been wasted." also considered poaching

Cheers

Engee

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
Nice write up. This covers a lot of what you need to know. One critical take away that John Montana always emphasizes is that you need to know your forage.