Got any bird pics?

Otter

Steelhead
Nice pics of the rough-legged and waterfowl.

I am guessing that they are all for the Skagit area.

Keep em coming....
Scott, the rough legged was hunting voles over a large estuary on the east coast of Vancouver Island. Winter. I'm guessing it was a juvenile, just going by its lack of concern about quite a number of humans stalking it, especially that guy in the bright red coat. I would think an adult would be more skittish, but I'm no bird expert.

Cabezon

Sculpin Enterprises
Forum Supporter
That is one beautiful bird! Is it a red tail? Hawks can have so many colour variations, it's confusing to me. There's great picture galleries on Cornell University's bird site that help me, but I'm stumped on this one.
I think that it is a ferruginous hawk. The breast is almost completely white. The shoulders are rusty red. And the head is dark gray. See
Steve

Rob Allen

Life of the Party
I think that it is a ferruginous hawk. The breast is almost completely white. The shoulders are rusty red. And the head is dark gray. See
Steve
Ferruginous is what we thought too..

Scott Salzer

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
I tend to think of ferruginous as an east of the mountains bird. Haven’t really expected them as a wet side bird. I know my sister, with WDFW , cataloged nests on the dry side. I defer to others .

The breast looked like rough-legged to this guy.

Gyrfalcon22

Life of the Party