Winds knots! I will concur them......hopefully?

Aleforme

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
So I'm really new to fly fishing and my main goal right now is to get my casting locked down or at least to a point where I can go out and spending more time with the fly in the water relatively close to where I want it.

I have become pretty good in the 20 to 30ft range which for most if the river I'll be fishing will be a great start. I'm working on longer casts but want to get my short game down first.

The things that is plaguing me right now is winds knots. I can't seem to concur these. I have read about them, watch videos and asked some friends. I understand what I'm doing wrong (loop going under vs over, staring my forward motion to soon, etc) but I can't seem to make the needed correction. I've gotten much better and maybe it just takes more experience.

But, wondering if anyone have any specific tips or maybe that "one thing" that made it click for them? Do you hold your mouth at a certain open position. cock your head 20 degree to the left while standing on their right leg? Or maybe some real tricks that worked for you?

Thanks,

Jim

Zak

Legend
Forum Supporter
One weird trick that helped me is to glance over your shoulder and see your back cast unroll, then look and cast forward. I think it works by forcing a small pause in between the back and forward casts, which lets your back cast straighten out behind you.

Last edited:

Pink Nighty

Life of the Party
I get wind knots from tailing loops, and I can throw one hell of a tailing loop via a variety of casting failures. Generally from using too much tip, too much powereor waiting too long for my backcast to unfurl.

While I dont have good advice for avoiding the tailing loop, when i throw one I pull everything in and check for the knot. It's usually there and easier to get out if you dont tighten it up with another cast.

Aleforme

Steelhead
Forum Supporter