Talk 360* Flashers/Spin Baits to Me

JS

Mankie Old Chum
Forum Supporter
My brother and I got back into the salmon gear game, bought a boat, and have been getting after fish with all methods, but I am new to this 360 flasher game. Today we hooked up with our first fall nook and I’m sold, it was such an epic grab, but after a couple head shakes she was gone.

I’m struggling with a couple things:

1. When to use 12oz vs 14 or 16….I’m fishing from the D up to the Reach, which I don’t think I need to run 20s, but maybe I do?

Is it more related to the 1-1,000 thump? Or depth?

2. Aside from rigging flashers with breakaways (I get how to retrofit them, I’m working on it) is there a best way to fight fish; should I cut power? Keep trolling speed???

3. More specific to fall chinook in the main stem, what depths/structure should I be targeting and as a rule what depths are these fish suspended?

Any helpful feedback would be appreciated. You can tell me to get fucked, too, I get it 😂

Evan B

Bobber Downey Jr.
Staff member
Admin
I Haven't fished above Bonneville so I'm not sure if there's anything different happening up there.

But my fall chinook setup is Pro Troll 360 on a 24-30" bumper. Above the bumper is my slider with 160z ball. If I'm dragging bottom, which is almost always, I run an 18" dropper to my lead from the slider. Behind the flasher is my 30" or so leader to my spinfish.

I troll whatever speed gets my line around 45deg angle.

Edit: also I stopped running breakaways. They're annoying.

Tom Butler

Grandpa, Small Stream Fanatic
Forum Supporter