Stillwater emergers

grayscud

Freshly Spawned
Super confused about method for targeting fish doing splashy rises. I went to a lake that has a hex hatch, but never saw a fish actually take a bug on the surface, but tons of splashy rises all around. I put on a Intermediate sinking line and a nymph and tried every retrieve I could think of, but super new to lake fishing, so don't know my ass from elbows.

I tried just using a nymph and slip indicator, too. Only got one take randomly moving spots with the canoe.

Buzzy

I prefer to call them strike indicators.
Forum Supporter
@grayscud, you say "never saw a fish actually take a bug", are you sure the fish were in fact taking hex emergers or duns? Were there adults on the water? Are you sure the splashy rises were to hex emergers? Or duns? I have zero experience with hexagenia hatches (my bad) but have had mixed results with other emerging insects/mayflies. A couple lakes I've fished over the years, there's often a mayfly emergence in mid afternoon; a callibaetis cripple imitation is often golden.

Good luck in your quest!

grayscud

Freshly Spawned
@grayscud, you say "never saw a fish actually take a bug", are you sure the fish were in fact taking hex emergers or duns? Were there adults on the water? Are you sure the splashy rises were to hex emergers? Or duns? I have zero experience with hexagenia hatches (my bad) but have had mixed results with other emerging insects/mayflies. A couple lakes I've fished over the years, there's often a mayfly emergence in mid afternoon; a callibaetis cripple imitation is often golden.

Good luck in your quest!
No, I am not sure of that at all. No adults on the water. I saw one hex adult in the air, but never saw another emerging bug. there were splashes all around me. Couldn't figure out what they were after for the life of me. No shucks in the water that I could find. Could have been something else.

Buzzy

Forum Supporter
Welcome to the mysteries of fly fishing stillwaters!