New Fly Swap on the Books!

WWKimba

Smolt
I'm a new member here and have just posted my first fly swap - The Ark Swap" found on the next thread - 'Fly Tying and Entomology". I've been tying flies for over 50 years and hosting fly swaps going on 12 years now on other sites.

What is a fly swap? It is simply a where a bunch (6-12) of tyers get together to tie a set of flies and exchange them with one another. The theme for this swap are fly patterns that include no more than 2 tying materials, besides the hook and tying thread to produce a fishable fly! Why the name Ark Swap - well this type of fly is commonly referred to as a "2 by 2" pattern - 2 materials and 2 minutes to tie or less for most experienced tyers. ALL of my swaps are open to all level and experienced tyers - I've had a couple people that had signed up for my swaps after JUST getting their initial fly-tying kit!

How can a swap help out a newer tyer? Well there are 3 ways that almost all tyers can improve on their tying skills - take tying classes, tie with some experienced tyers, OR participate in a fly swap. Why? - each of these methods involve FEEDBACK on your tying. Also, since you will need to tie the same pattern multiple times you will begin to better develop your small muscle memory as well as your tying eye. You will also build your personal database of fly patterns along with having one of those patterns to test drive on your home waters.

How can I help you with your tying and swap experience? Well, I can offer some tying pattern choices to you that meet the swap theme. For this swap it would look like this:

Green Leaf Hopper
1675965092096.png

Simplified Carrot Nymph
1675965183303.png

The DJG Nymph
1675965253216.png

The American Woolly
index.php

Deer Hair Beetle
1675965373840.png
The Pull Back Nymph

1675965435797.png