I wonder why?

Wanative

Spawned out Chum
Forum Supporter
Yeah, I meant to add that new casters, and people who have fished a long time but never learned how to cast well, often like stiff fast action rods. I think the theory is that if you whip the rod back and forth fast enough and hard enough, then you can compensate for poor casting technique. This is what some poor casters have admitted to me anyway.
That would be me.
I'm working on timing and letting the rod and line work together as designed rather than brute strength and endless backcasts.

jasmillo

}=)))*>
Forum Supporter
I consider myself a solid, self taught caster. I’m not winning any competitions but can hold my own in both the distance and accuracy department when necessary. I think there is an application for all rod actions. I personally enjoy fishing everything from glass to some of the fastest action rods made today.

Distance is not the driver when determining the action of rod I select. Accuracy is a much bigger driver (do I need it or not). Am I fishing coho off the beach or spooky trout sipping size 20 dries? As a general rule, more accuracy, I tend to use a slower action rods with more feel. Less accuracy needed, especiallly max distance with minimal false casting (i.e. more fly time in water)…fast action. Other applications, I find the rod that feels “right”.

It may look super sexy making 80+ foot casts with a glass rod off the beach for coho but for me it’s not the most efficient way to target those fish. You can make the same cast with a super fast rod and the right line much more efficiently. I can also catch spring creek trout sipping spinners fishing an incredibly fast saltwater rod and an OBS but I’ll be working way to hard to do so.

Use the right tool for the job…just like anything else.

Last edited:

Kfish

Flyologist
Forum Supporter