Guided float recommendation?

mattsavage

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
So, my wife wants to rent a cabin for few days in January before returning to work in February, one last good time before returning to work after a year long "vacation".
Does anyone have a recommended river and guide sevice in Oregon/SW Washington for trout fishing that time of year? Maybe somewhere in a 3-4 hour radius of portland? Where I decide to book a trip and fish will greatly influence the cabin selection process... ;)

I've been considering the Mckenzie or Deschutes, but not sure how they fish in January. Maybe the Yakima? I'm pretty new to the trout fly fishing scene around here.
Let me know if you have any recommendations or input on fishing that time of year, maybe its not worth it? Thanks!

mcswny

Legend
Forum Supporter
So, my wife wants to rent a cabin for few days in January before returning to work in February, one last good time before returning to work after a year long "vacation".
Does anyone have a recommended river and guide sevice in Oregon/SW Washington for trout fishing that time of year? Maybe somewhere in a 3-4 hour radius of portland? Where I decide to book a trip and fish will greatly influence the cabin selection process... ;)

I've been considering the Mckenzie or Deschutes, but not sure how they fish in January. Maybe the Yakima? I'm pretty new to the trout fly fishing scene around here.
Let me know if you have any recommendations or input on fishing that time of year, maybe its not worth it? Thanks!

No trout stream is going to be lights out in January like they can be in Summer. But if you know where to look and how to fish the winter, the D can be extremely productive. In fact, I fish the D 2x more in the winter than I do the Summer (for a myriad of reasons). If you know what conditions to look for, and where, you can even run into a good BWO hatches in January.

nwbobber

Steelhead
Forum Supporter