Coffee talk

troutpocket

Stillwater strategist
Let’s get a thread going for coffee nerds. In my case, I’ve been roasting my own beans for five years. A coworker who always made himself an after-lunch coffee using an Aeropress turned me on to the process. I use a popcorn air-popper like this.
0D942D54-B5D3-4162-9E4A-89FDE1D253DF.jpeg
Depending on the beans and roast level, my roast times are 9-15 minutes for my 1/4 pound batches. Shorter time for delicate beans, like East African varieties. Longer for robust blends intended for espresso. I make about a 1/2 pound a week. There are others on the forum who roast at home. @Matt B @Buzzy @mtskibum16 ? You guys wanna talk about your process?

For Central American beans, I found a great source through Costco online. They offer Mayorga Honduras green beans in 5 pound bags. Good stuff!
57CEE9A7-9382-4BDE-988F-44A052078EEE.png

And for a change up I’m really looking forward to trying these beans from the Big Island. I’m waiting until the weather improves before I start working with these. Ambient temperature around or below freezing isn’t conducive to a good roast.
54C5E5FB-A4F7-4157-871A-E8C670D3F6EB.jpeg

Anyone else out there taking matters into their own hands?

wanderingrichard

Life of the Party
I don't go quite that far. I like the San Francisco Coffee Roasters brand from costco.. my daily is a Cuisinart Grind and Brew on a timer for 430 am so when I get up, its already brewing.

On weekends, i use that same bag of coffee but do a finer grind with a home grinder and then do a pour over with a device i got from a Starbucks closeout sale. It was marked down to 50% off so , yeah ok I grabbed it.,

If you want great coffee when camping or whatever outdoor sport you enjoy, and cant lug all that gear, look for Kuju brand pour over bags. Theyre individual servings , but darn expensive .

Last edited:

Matt B

RAMONES
Forum Supporter
D0C74B19-DC89-4EF8-9802-9FED0D965E7D.gif
Kawwfee, Douawgs, Douawtuhs, let’s talk!