Beginner trying to find a spot

cgswjs

Freshly Spawned
Hi guys,
My name is Ian. I am a beginner and I am struggling to find a spot for fly fishing. Is there any creek or river spot good for trout that’s close to Portland? Thanks guys.

Evan B

Bobber Downey Jr.
Staff member
Admin
Hi guys,
My name is Ian. I am a beginner and I am struggling to find a spot for fly fishing. Is there any creek or river spot good for trout that’s close to Portland? Thanks guys.
Trout close to Portland is a very tough gig. I highly recommend visiting Portland Fly Shop or Northwest Fly Fishing outfitters for some pointers.

I live in the Portland area and the only things I target on fly rods in the metro area are carp, smallmouth and shad.

Tom Butler

Grandpa, Small Stream Fanatic
Forum Supporter
Welcome to the forum. I'm too far away to help with a place, but agree with the others that a visit to the fly shop would be worthwhile. I'm sure they can direct you to a few places and recommend a few flies for you to get a good start.

PhilR

IDK Man
Forum Supporter
Agree on checking with a fly shop. Nearest good trout water is probably the Deschutes near Mecca or maupin. There is some decent stillwater up on Mt hood, if you have a float tube.

Feel free to ask more questions, and welcome to the forum.

clarkman

average member
Forum Supporter
Just to echo everything above, A quick visit to one of the local shops and buy a few flies, ask a few questions and you'll get enough information to get you headed in the right direction. As Evan noted, if you're willing to chase fish other than trout, you'll have far more options closer to the metro area, although having a kayak/canoe/other boat helps with many of those fisheries. The folks over at the Orvis shop will give you some good information as well.

Old Man

Just a useless Old Man.
Forum Legend