Brand New to Fly Tying

Stacey

Smolt
As the title says, I’m brand new to fly tying. This is my very first attempt (so, be nice 🙃). It’s supposed to be a Reverse Spider, & while it’s far from perfect, I think I’m hooked (ha).
IMG_4831.jpg

I’m also @Josh 's wife. I decided recently that I wanted to learn to tie flies, & when I asked him which ones I should learn first, his answer was a bit long & rambling (which I suspect isn't a surprise to any of you) - but then, he’s much more into fly fishing than fly tying. So, I decided to make my own account here & ask you all. What was your first fly &/or what would you recommend for an absolute beginner?

Josh already has lots of fly tying supplies cluttering up our garage, so I’ll probably try to work with what I’ve got for the moment. I’m also thinking that maybe some of my sewing/crafting/fiber arts supplies could be used as well, which opens up a whole world of possibilities (though I’m getting a bit ahead of myself there).

Anyhoo, I’d love to hear your opinions! What’s the next fly I should attempt? There are so many that look like fun, I’m having trouble deciding. Josh says bass, sea run cutthroat, and steelhead flies would be most useful for him. But mostly, I just want to work my way up the learning ladder. Do I just pick something that looks interesting and go for it? Or are there certain flies that teach specific techniques that'll be useful down the road?

~Stacey

mcswny

Legend
Forum Supporter
As the title says, I’m brand new to fly tying. This is my very first attempt (so, be nice 🙃). It’s supposed to be a Reverse Spider, & while it’s far from perfect, I think I’m hooked (ha).
View attachment 51186